Program Faculty

Director Brian E. C. Schottlaender

One of the academic library world’s prominent leaders, Schottlaender headed the UC San Diego Library during 1999-2017, developing it into one of the nation’s top public academic research libraries. Long a proponent of cooperation among libraries and related organizations, Schottlaender served as President of the Association of Research Libraries and of ALA's Association for Library Collections & Technical Services. In addition, he chaired the Steering Committee of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging, the Steering Committee of the Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance, the HathiTrust Board of Governors, and the WEST Executive Committee. Currently, he is a member of the editorial board of portal: Libraries and the Academy, an endowment trustee of the American Library Association, and Treasurer of the Dr. Seuss Foundation.

Other Faculty

Faculty in past years have included
• Christine Borgman, Distinguished Research Professor of Information Studies, UCLA
• Charles Henry, President, Council on Library and Information Resources
• Mary Lee Kennedy, Executive Director, Association of Research Libraries
• Jeff Leshay, President, Leshay Communications
• Jeff MacKie-Mason, University Librarian and Chief Digital Scholarship Officer, UC Berkeley
• Deanna Marcum, Senior Advisor, Ithaka S+R