Distinguished Faculty

Director Brian E. C. Schottlaender

One of the academic library world’s prominent leaders, Schottlaender headed the UC San Diego Library during 1999-2017, developing it into one of the nation’s top public academic research libraries. Long a proponent of cooperation among libraries and related organizations, Schottlaender is a member of the board of directors of the Digital Preservation Network, a member of the editorial board of portal: Libraries and the Academy, an endowment trustee of the American Library Association, and an advisory board member of the American Library Association’s Center for the Future of Libraries. He also co-chairs the international consultative committee of “Digital Dunhuang.”

Other Faculty

Faculty in past years have included:

  • Larry Alford, Chief Librarian, University of Toronto; Past President, Association of Research Libraries
  • Terry Belanger, University Professor and Executive Director, Rare Book School, University of Virginia
  • Christine Borgman, Distinguished Professor and Presidential Chair in Information Studies, UCLA
  • Stanley Chodorow, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Council on Library and Information Resources; Professor of History, UC San Diego
  • James Davis, Associate Vice Chancellor for Information Technology, UCLA
  • Carole Leland, PhD, Principal, Creative Leadership Enterprises
  • Roger Schoenfeld, Program Director, Ithaka S+R
  • Carla Stoffle, University Librarian, University of Arizona; Chair of the Board of Directors, Center for Research Libraries
  • Duane Webster, Executive Director, Association of Research Libraries
  • Richard West, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer, California State University